Government   /   About Us
About Us

The Town of St. James (TOSJ) was incorporated on July 1, 1999 with a Council- Manager form of government. The Town Council is comprised of five members that are elected at-large to four-year staggered terms with the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem elected by Council. All elected officials service in unpaid positions.

The TOSJ is located in Brunswick County, North Carolina and is situated along the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway. The Town is comprised of residential and commercially zoned
property located within 9.2 square miles. Included are 2,450 acres that are held in conservancy.

The Town is a certified Community Wildlife Habitat, a certified Firewise Community, and is included in the Federal Atlantic Flyway, a primary avian migratory route. The Town sponsors a Living Shoreline, an oyster reef built along the Intracoastal Waterway to prevent shoreline erosion, provide a habitat for marine life, and improve water quality.

St. James includes a large residential area in a gated community that offers 81 holes of golf, four club houses, four swimming pools, 13 tennis courts, 10 pickleball courts, a marina, and a beach club. There are 32 miles of walking and biking trails and two parks. Waterway Park offers volleyball, bocce ball, and a kayak launch to the Intracoastal Waterway. Woodlands Park contains a large pavilion, an amphitheater, and an event lawn. The business district includes professional and medical offices.

At full build-out, the Town’s population is estimated to be approximately 10,000. The Town complex includes the Town Hall and the Community Center. The Town offices are located in the Town Hall building. The Community Center is gathering space to attend the Town of St. James/UNCW Speaker Series or Trivia Night, play board games or poker, experience line dancing or Zumba, or explore your artistic abilities in the Arts and Crafts room.